Co-Browsing vs Screen Sharing - Different Name, Same Package?

October 15, 2018

If your company operates in the customer support sector you might have already heard the terms Screen Sharing and Co-Browsing. If you have been browsing our website, you have surely read them somewhere.

But now you may wonder… What are those? Are they the same? Where are the differences? Fear not! In this Blogpost we will give you an outline on the differences – and what to use them for!


Co-Browsing

So, first off what is Co-Browsing? Co-Browsing is a technology that makes it possible for a member of the support staff to remote control the customers website session – without the customer having to download anything.

In contrast to Screen Sharing Co-Browsing happens exclusively in your web browser. You can’t see anything that happens outside the web browser. This means the interaction is more secure and faster – for you and your customer.

Co-Browsing turns Customer Support into a helpful exchange. Gone are the days where you have to ask questions like “Are you on the website?” “What do you see?”. The staff member is now right there alongside the customer, guiding them through the website, helping them if there is a problem and encouraging the customer on their journey.

By being right there the support member can also nudge the customer in the direction of different products or services that would be interesting for them. The support staff can clear up last questions before the customer buys a product. This leads to faster transactions and stops the customer from cancelling the process because of inconveniences.

Another important aspect of Co-Browsing is the security. The exchange is completely encrypted and sensitive information on the client’s device can be masked. Therefore, the staff member never sees it. There are also no downloads, which means things are made even easier for you and your clients.


Screen Sharing

Screen Sharing is similar to Co-Browsing in the way, that you see you clients screen. But that’s where the similarities end. For Screen Sharing you typically have to download an application first. These applications then send screenshots, using large amounts of bandwidth.

This means of course, that customer support does not just happen in the browser. Screen Sharing shows the whole screen of the customer – great if there is something outside the browser they need help with.

The downside of Screen Sharing is surely the fact that it is rather slow. But at the same time it is the perfect solution for demos or PowerPoint presentations that don’t work via browser.



Learnings & Conclusion

  • Co-Browse works only in the Browser.
  • Co-Browsing solutions need no download, which makes it very easy for the customer to use.
  • It is great for guiding customers through the buying process and helping them - before they get discouraged and leave your website.
  • Co-Browsing is rather secure through encryption.
  • Screen Sharing works in and out of the Browser.
  • Screen Sharing is rather slow.
  • Using Co-Browse for your customer support saves time and provides a better customer experience.

Are you ready to boost your engagement?

From our Blog